Do you make time for yourself?

As a business owner and working mother my weekends usually consist of watching my little girls in their swimming lessons while checking work emails, going out on for family fun days with my mind on planning the working week ahead around after school activities and relaxing on an evening with one eye on the television and the other on my Facebook news feed. I know I am certainly not alone in managing this manic existence where the person at the centre of this crazy hub of multitasking often feels forgotten and invisible.

IMG_2527Last weekend I was invited to attend a workshop by Gail Curry from Happy Planet Creative Arts on the Northumberland Coast – my first thought was “how will I fit this in” closely followed by “I wonder if you can take children”! But then I stopped and my final thought was “this is a chance to have time away to be me, where do I sign up?” A trip to the supermarket alone is usually enough to send me into a happy place so this was an opportunity I was not going to say no to.

After completing a logistical operation of which family members were going to carry out the planned childcare shifts I finally set off to Low Hauxley, a tiny village near Amble. As a result of the giddiness of escaping for the day and in true Ms Cameron style I had 10% battery left on my phone, heeled boots and no money in my purse.

IMG_2498When I finally arrived at the village hall I was greeted by a fabulous view of the beach and an amazing group of female business owners and professionals who had the exact same objective for the day – escaping from normal everyday life.

Our first task was to stroll along the beach and look at the interesting objects which feature along the coast – there were no thoughts of how much sand would end up in the back of my car or cries for ice-cream. It was all about me! We went back to the village hall to begin a relaxing array of craft activities – which were again all about me! I didn’t have to share the sweeties which Gail lovingly provided or the chocolate biscuits with any small children – I made sure I wasn’t going to take them home either.

IMG_2517The whole day consisted of embracing your inner child and taking part in new creative activities – there was very little talk of work, no chance to check you phone – due to lack of signal and lots of time to talk, laugh and be comfortable in doing nothing. Gail was a fabulous host with countless stories I could have listened to all day, not only is she an outstanding artist and photographer with work displayed across Starbucks Coffee Shops in America but she is also a wonderful chef! It was a pleasure to share a home cooked lunch with a group of inspiring ladies and I embraced the fact I was eating a hot meal in one sitting – something that is a rarity in my life.

The setting of this remote coastal village is breathtakingly beautiful and, we were even given a chance to explore the surroundings after lunch to have that added time alone, I felt like I had been on holiday by 3pm! Apart from sand in my impractical boots I also took away the clear message that it is ok to have time alone and be creative. I came away with windswept hair, lots of fabulous creations which I have dotted around the house and a promise to myself that I will make more time for the most important cog in my families wheel – me!

Happy Planet Creative Arts will be hosting these amazing creative workshops in Low Hauxley in May, June and July – make sure you book soon because places are limited to 6 attendees per session. More event details…..

Leave a comment